Groundwater Management Area # 7 Joint Planning Meeting

Minutes

May 5, 2022

Pursuant to notice posted in accordance with Section 36.108(e) of the Texas Water Code and Chapter 552 of the Government Code, the meeting of Groundwater Management Area 7 was called to order on May 5, 2022, at 11:00 a.m. at the Gin & Granary, 8336 Loop 570, San Angelo, TX 76904.

- 1. The Meeting was called to Order at 11:00 am and a quorum was established by Meredith Allen. Invocation was given by Jon Cartwright.
- 2. Following the invocation, introduction of member districts and other persons in attendance were made:

Districts present:

Coke County UWCD - Winton Milliff Glasscock GCD – Rhetta Yanez Hill Country UWCD - Paul Tybor Hickory UWCD #1 - David Huie Irion County WCD – Diana Thomas Kimble County GCD – Meredith Allen Lipan-Kickapoo WCD – Leon Braden Menard County UWD - Meredith Allen Middle Pecos GCD - Ty Edwards Plateau UWC & SD - Jon Cartwright Real-Edwards C&RD – Brian Leiker Santa Rita UWCD – JJ Weatherby Sterling County UWCD - Diana Thomas Sutton County UWCD - Meredith Allen Uvalde County UWCD - Vic Hilderbran Wes-Tex GCD – Dale Adams

Districts Absent: Crockett County GCD Kinney County GCD Lone Wolf GCD Terrell County UWCD

Public Attendees:

Lana Tolleson – Sutton County UWCD Robert Bradley – TWDB Ashley Masters – ICWCD/SCUWCD John Grant – Region F/CRMWD Allison Strube –City of San Angelo Bill Hutchison – Consultant Rocio De Luna – Glasscock GCD Caroline Runge – Menard Co. WCID

- 3. No Public Comment was given
- 4. The minutes of the October 21, 2021 and January 20, 2022 meetings were reviewed. Vic Hilderbran made the motion to approve the minutes, Ty Edwards seconded. The motion passed.
- 5. Robert Bradley with the Texas Water Development Board gave updates to the members.
 - Management Plan pre-review is highly encouraged for those District's that are needed to renew
 - The new model deadline is June 14th
- 6. After Discussion, a motion was made by Ty Edwards to approve the Resolution to reassign the aquifer slivers between GMA 7 and GMA 8 by the Texas Water Development Board. Rhetta Yanez seconded, and the motion carried.

Groundwater Conservation Districts located partially or wholly within Groundwater Management Area # 7 are:

Coke County UWCD; Crockett County GCD; Glasscock GCD; Hickory UWCD No. 1; Hill Country UWCD; Irion County WCD; Kimble County GCD; Kinney County GCD; Lipan-Kickapoo WCD; Lone Wolf GCD; Menard County UWD; Middle Pecos GCD; Plateau UWC&SD; Real-Edwards C&RD; Santa Rita UWCD; Sterling County UWCD; Sutton County UWCD; Terrell County GCD; Uvalde County UWCD; Wes-Tex GCD

> Requests for additional information and comments may be submitted to: Meredith Allen GMA # 7 Coordinator Sutton County Underground Water Conservation District 301 S. Crockett Ave, Sonora, Texas 76950 Telephone: 325-226-9093 / Fax: 325-387-5737 e-mail: manager@suttoncountyuwcd.org

- 7. Dr. Bill Hutchison presented on his review of the recommended tasks for 2022 and 2023 regarding Joint Planning.
- 8. After a review of the draft request for qualifications presented by Meredith Allen, Ty Edwards made a motion to not accept the draft RFQ and enter into an agreement with Dr. Bill Hutchison for the professional services needed for joint planning. Vic Hilderbran seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.
- Pursuant the Texas Water Code, Chapter 36.108(c) Groundwater Conservation Districts located wholly or partially within GMA 7 must review their respective management plans annually. All Districts present reviewed their respective management plans.
- 10. No other matters were presented.
- 11. A meeting was tentatively set for October 20th in San Angelo.
- 12. Leon Braden made a motion to adjourn, Rhetta Yanez seconded, and the motion carried.

Groundwater Conservation Districts located partially or wholly within Groundwater Management Area # 7 are:

Coke County UWCD; Crockett County GCD; Glasscock GCD; Hickory UWCD No. 1; Hill Country UWCD; Irion County WCD; Kimble County GCD; Kinney County GCD; Lipan-Kickapoo WCD; Lone Wolf GCD; Menard County UWD; Middle Pecos GCD; Plateau UWC&SD; Real-Edwards C&RD; Santa Rita UWCD; Sterling County UWCD; Sutton County UWCD; Terrell County GCD; Uvalde County UWCD; Wes-Tex GCD

> Requests for additional information and comments may be submitted to: Meredith Allen

GMA # 7 Coordinator Sutton County Underground Water Conservation District 301 S. Crockett Ave, Sonora, Texas 76950 Telephone: 325-226-9093 / Fax: 325-387-5737 e-mail: manager@suttoncountyuwcd.org